Finalists Announced for the 2012 NLA-I Writing Awards

As many of you know, I’ve been involved with the National Leather Association for decades, won their Lifetime Achievement Award in 2004, and my book The Prince’s Boy received honorary mention in the NLA:I Writing Awards in 2011.
The NLA:I Writing Awards recognize great writing about BDSM in five categories: short story, novel, non-fiction book, anthology, and non-fiction article. No, I’m not nominated for anything this year (though I’ll be sending them Slow Surrender for the next year!), but here is the list of nominees to celebrate! OMG so many great writers! Congrats to the finalists and good luck! (Announcement of the winners will be made at Tribal Fire, May 3-5.)
See complete press release under the cut!
(Columbus, OH) — National Leather Association: International (NLA-I), a leading organization for activists in the pansexual SM/leather/fetish community, announced today the finalists for its annual writing awards. Named after activists and writers Geoff Mains, John Preston, Pauline Reage, Cynthia Slater, and the groundbreaking organization Samois, they are awarded annually to recognize excellence in writing and publishing about Leather, SM, bondage and fetishes.

    The finalists for the Cynthia Slater Non-fiction Article Award are:

  • “Civility Revisited” by Kassie (
  • “Rogue Leatherwomen” by Leland Carina (
  • “Stop, Drop and Role! Erotic Role Playing” by Mollena Williams (The Ultimate Guide to Kink: BDSM, Role Play and the Erotic Edge)
  • “Digging in the Dirt – The Lure of Taboo Role Play” by Mollena Williams (The Ultimate Guide to Kink: BDSM, Role Play and the Erotic Edge)
  • “On Collars And Closure and Owning Myself” by Mollena Williams (The Perverted Negress)
    The finalists for the Geoff Mains Non-fiction Book Award are:

  • Twenty-Five Years of Living in Leather: The National Leather Association, 1986-2011 by Steve Stein (Adynaton Publishing)
  • The Ritual of Dominance & Submission: A Guide to High Protocol Dominance & Submission by David English
  • Playing Well With Others: Your Field Guide to Discovering, Exploring and Navigating the Kink, Leather and BDSM Communities by Lee Harrington and Mollena Williams (Greenery Press)
  • The Ultimate Guide to Kink by Tristan Taormino, ed. (Cleis Press)
  • Sexual Outsiders: Understanding BDSM Sexualities and Communities by David Ortmann, LCSW and Richard Sprott, PhD
    The finalists for the Pauline Reage Novel Award are:

  • The Masters of Falcon’s Fantasies by Cassidy Browning & Reggie Alexander (Siren Publishing)
  • Power Exchange by A. J. Rose (Voodoo Lily Press)
  • The Portrait by L. M. Somerton (Total-E-Bound)
  • Eve Portrait of Submission by Steve Maser (Pink Flamingo Publications
  • Beyond the Edge by Elizabeth Lister (MLR Press)
  • A Forbidden Love by Lee Dorsey (Pink Flamingo Publications)
    The finalists for the Samois Anthology Award are:

  • Bound by lust: Romantic stories of submission and sensuality, ed. Shanna Germain (Cleis Press)
  • Cheeky spanking stories, ed. Rachel Kramer Bussel (Cleis Press)
  • Luscious: Stories of anal eroticism, ed. Alison Tyler (Cleis Press
  • Whatever Lola Wants (and Other Wicked Tales), ed. Wes Royal (FDC Publication
  • LIPSTICK LOVERS, ed. Elizabeth Coldwell (Xcite Books)
    The finalists for the John Preston Short Story Award are:

  • “The Greener Grasses” by M. Christian, from “STROKE THE FIRE: The Best ManLove Fiction of M. Christian” (Renaissance E Books/Sizzler Editions)
  • “Christmas Comes to Otters’ Gap” by Jeff Mann, from “The Dirty Diner” (Bold Strokes Books)
  • “Wild Like Honey” by Angel Propps, from “Dangerous Curves” (Ravenous Romance
  • “Muriel” by Annie Cox (Pink Flamingo Press)
  • “’Aunt’ Grace” by I.G. Frederick & Patrick (Smashwords Edition)

The winners will be announced at the National Leather Association’s Annual General Meeting, which will be held during Tribal Fire on May 3-5, 2013 in Oklahoma City, OK. For more information on the AGM or Tribal Fire please go to
For more information about the awards, please contact the award committee chair, pyxy, at

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *